Back

Best way to dev on localhost with cookies?

• Self Hosted
  • Auth
  • Web
MYND
2 Apr, 2024, 20:40

I'm sure this question has been answered before, but I couldn't find a good solution. I am new to Appwrite, and I'm selfhosting it at console.domain.com. I've set up a user account that I am trying to create an email session with. I get logged in, but the cookies don't set and as soon as I refresh, it acts like I am logged out even though the session is still active in the appwrite console. I have set the domain in the Web platform in the console to * hoping that would fix the issue but unfortunately it does not.

What is the best way to develop an application locally with auth while hosting the appwrite console on a different domain? I can see the session getting created in the dev console, so that part all works. Do I need to set something in my hosts file?

TL;DR
Developers discussing issues with cookies not saving for localhost. Solution: Configure domain and SSL correctly, cookies will not show up in the browser until actually used. Try making an `account.get()` request to make cookies show up. Running Appwrite locally resolved the issue for one developer.
Kenny
2 Apr, 2024, 20:48

I believe your apps domain and the domain for appwrite have to be the same for it to set cookies

Kenny
2 Apr, 2024, 20:48

you can have multiple domains for appwrite

MYND
2 Apr, 2024, 20:56

So I'd have to run appwrite locally for it to work?

VincentGe
2 Apr, 2024, 20:58

The fact that the cookies are not saved is browser behavior :/

VincentGe
2 Apr, 2024, 20:59

What cookies get saved where is not something we/you/sdk control with code

VincentGe
2 Apr, 2024, 20:59

The browser decides that is allowed and what isn't

MYND
2 Apr, 2024, 21:00

Is there a workaround or a browser setting/different browser I can try? Or should I just go the route of deploying my changes to something like vercel?

VincentGe
2 Apr, 2024, 21:01

Try running Appwrite locally

VincentGe