Back

OAuth get session on SSR

• Accounts
  • Web
HoXsan
26 Aug, 2023, 21:50

Hi guys,

I am a bit new to Appwrite and tried to convert an example app i've built using a tutorial with supabase. The authentication goes trough GitHub, and with Supabase, it returns "code" with the callback. But I do not get "code" when using OAuth with appwrite. I do get authenticated on CSR, and do get informations (have no idea how, as there is no cookies or localstorage tokens), but I can't get anything on SSR.

Do you guys have an example of how this can be accomplished?

Took a look at Meldirons solution, but that is with "anonymous" authentication, which is another flow.

My apps source code: https://github.com/HarunKilic/twitter-clone

TL;DR
The user is having trouble getting a 'key' in the URL when using OAuth with Appwrite. They have tried different approaches but haven't been successful. A workaround suggested is to use '/auth/oauth2/success' as the success path in the SSR app, which will provide a 'secret' in the URL. This 'secret' can be extracted and put in a cookie for future requests. The user also mentions that they are new to Appwrite and are looking for an example of how to accomplish their task. They provide a link to their app's source code on GitHub.
Drake
26 Aug, 2023, 21:55

Ya...we're working on improving the experience with SSR

A workaround right now might be to use /auth/oauth2/success as the success path in your SSR app. When you use this path, there will be a secret in the URL which you can extract and put in a cookie to use for future requests.

Drake
26 Aug, 2023, 21:56
HoXsan
26 Aug, 2023, 22:03

I do not get any success or key in the url.

Tried following:

button action : account.createOAuth2Session('github', ${location.origin}/auth/callback);

in /auth/callback

TypeScript
const requestUrl = new URL(request.url);
const code = requestUrl.searchParams.get("secret");
console.log(requestUrl, code);
// Res - http://localhost:3000/auth/callback | null