Permissions define who can access files within a bucket. By default no permissions are granted to any users, so no user can access any files. Permissions exist at two levels, bucket level and file level permissions.
In Appwrite, permissions are granted, meaning a user has no access by default and receive access when granted. A user with access granted at either bucket level or file level will be able to access a file. Users don't need access at both levels to access files.
Bucket level permissions apply to every file in the bucket. If a user has read, create, update, or delete permissions at the bucket level, the user can access all files inside the bucket.
Configure bucket level permissions by navigating to Your bucket > Settings > Permissions.
File level permissions grant access to individual files. If a user has read, create, update, or delete permissions at the file level, the user can access the individual file.
File level permissions are only applied if File Security is enabled in the settings of your bucket. Enable file level permissions by navigating to Your bucket > Settings > File security.
File level permissions are configured in individual files.